President: Wynne Evans BEM MStJ
Chairman: Terry Evans
Musical Director: Paul Rapi


Graham and Pat Stubbs

Tenby Male Choir was founded in 1975 by Graham Stubbs, its first musical director. Accompanied by his wife Pat, Graham was an inspiration to all who knew him and guided the choir from its infancy to maturity. His musical knowledge and expertise led the choir to new heights, to challenging competitions and massed concerts, as well as many memorable European tours. In 1998, Graham handed over the baton to Claire Harrison, who in turn was replaced by Christine Shewry in 2000. Christine served with distinction until November 2006.

Ian Williams

Our fourth MD, Ian “Wilbur” Williams served from January 2007. Working closely with accompanist Jill “no-relation” Williams, he developed the choir's musical confidence and dynamic range of performance, making the singing fun and entertaining for our audiences, especially many visitors to Tenby. Having brought the choir back from its suspension during the Covid pandemic, rebuilding our skills and stamina to perform a very successful summer season, Wilbur retired in October 2022.

Paul Rapi

Paul Rapi became our Musical Director in January 2023. An experienced teacher of music and drama, conductor of choirs and orchestras, and past LEA Head of Performing Arts, Paul is also a former Mayor of Tenby and was born within the town walls. Previously our Assistant MD, Paul has worked with the Choir for many years, identifying talented local young musicians who we have been privileged to introduce to our audiences. We are much indebted to these "rising stars", their parents and teachers.

John Harrison & Jill Williams

The choir is also grateful to its vice-president, Dr John Harrison, for his support, encouragement and occasional accompaniment on the organ of St Mary's Church, Tenby, where John is director of music. John is pictured with Jill Williams, our ever-patient and professional Accompanist through half the Choir’s life!

© 2023 Tenby Male Choir. All Rights Reserved. Last updated 26th March 2023